Chained Oak Farm is set in its own grounds of 24 acres of woodland. The house overlooks the Churnet Valley, the views are magnificent designated as ‘an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty’.
The woodlands, now belonging to Chained Oak Farm were formally owned by Alton Towers, the former seat of the Earl of Shrewsbury. The track through the wood is called Barbary Gutter. This was used by the Earl as a private road to Saint Giles Church. Both the church and Alton Towers were designed by Pugin. This track passes the “Chained Oak” tree, the very tree the Earl became obsessed with in 1830. The ride called Hex at Alton Towers tells the story of this legend with fantastic effects.
Chained Oak farm is located directly opposite Alton Towers theme park. It is a short 10 minute walk from the farm to the main ticket booth. The short distance eliminates any traffic problems and car park fees.
Our converted stable block is now ready for bookings. This brand new facility includes double, twin and family rooms all with en-suite and access to a covered BBQ veranda.
Absolutely stunning setting for bouldering, biking, riding, and walking.